Who are we?

Aberuthven and Dunning is a Church of Scotland Parish in South West Perthshire with two worship centres at Aberuthven and Dunning. The Parish is linked with the neighbouring parish of Aberdalgie and Forteviot to the North East.

Photo of Kirk Session

Members of the Kirk Session


The parish was formed in January 2014 from part of the former Parish known as the Stewartry of Strathearn, with the remaining part becoming Aberdalgie and Forteviot Parish. Despite the comparatively recent formation, Aberuthven and Dunning is the modern continuation of a church tradition in the area which traces its roots back to medieval times.

Worship Centres

please click images for more information about each worship centre


Aberuthven Church


Dunning Church and Hall

Dunning Church


Aberuthven and Dunning is part of the Church of Scotland and is governed by Church laws and procedures. This means the governing body is the Kirk Session, made up of Elders and the minister who chairs meetings. The members of the Kirk Session are the charitable trustees of Aberuthven and Dunning. The Kirk Session are responsible to Perth Presbytery and ultimately to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.

Although the Kirk Session has overall responsibility for the Church locally, in practise it has appointed convenors to take primary responsibility for many of the key functions, in some cases with teams to support them in their work. All convenors and teams are accountable to the Kirk Session and will normally provide regular reports to the Kirk Session as required.

Office Bearers

Minister: Rev James Aitchison

Session Clerk: Hazel Scott

Deputy Session Clerks: Rosemary Cameron,
                  Susan Gray, Betty Taylor

Communications: Gillian Walker

Safeguarding: Jean Young

Children and Youth: Doreen Curran

Finance and Stewardship: William Kettles


Treasurer: William Kettles

Fabric: Maarten Versteeg

Prayer: Alfred Marshall, Celia Marshall

Presbytery Elder: Fiona Duff

Presbytery Equalising Elders: Nan Ross, Susan Gray

Webmaster: Alan Duff

Roll Keeper: John Bancewicz

Health and Safety: Alice Nairn